The teaser for Ranveer Singh starrer 83 released today. He takes us to Lord’s in London where the Indian national cricket team won the 1983 World Cup.

The national team that won the 1983 World Cup is the most famous group of Indian cricketers to make history and change the face of Indian cricket.

38 years later, here’s what the whole team was doing.

1. Kapil Dev

Then – he was the captain of the Indian cricket team during 1982-83. and led India to a historic victory. He continued to play international cricket until 1994.

Now – He is a successful businessman and commentator. He runs a company called Dev Musco lighting which puts spotlights on major stadiums and sports facilities in India.

2. Sunil Gavaskar

Then – he was one of the best starting strikers in the history of test cricket and opened for India during the 1983 World Cup.

Source: land of cricket

Now – He was MCA Vice President, BCCI President, ICC Match Referee and ICC Cricket Board President. We often see him on TV and he is one of the best cricket commentators.

Source: Indian Express

3. Ravi Shastri

Then – He was a all-rounder during the 1983 World Cup.

Now – he was the director of the Indian national cricket team in 2014, and later he was the head coach until recently when Rahul Dravid got the place.

4. Mohinder Amarnath

Then – he was the vice-captain of the team that won the 1983 World Cup and the best player in the finals and semifinals.

Now – he introduced the popular weekly TV program for cricket coaching in the late 80’s / early 90’s, Cricket with Mohinder Amarnath. It aired on Doordarshan. He is currently a cricket analyst for various news channels.

5. Sandeep Patil

Then – he was a hitter in the team that won the 1983 World Cup. Shortly after he was offered a role in the film, Kabhi Ajnabi The by Vijay Singh.

Now – He coached the Indian national team and the ‘A’ team. He was also the coach of Kenya for some time and was the president of the menu at BCCI. He is currently competing for a position in the Mumbai Cricket Association.

6. Dilip Vengsarkar

Then – he was a striker in the Indian national cricket team in 1983 and took over the captaincy from Kapil Deva after the 1987 World Cricket Championship.

He now runs three cricket academies, two in Mumbai and one in Pune. These academies provide free cricket training to selected players.

7. Krishnamachari Srikkanth

Then – he was the starting blow and a key part of the winning team in 1983, and in 1989 he was captain of the Indian team.

Now – He has served as the coach of the Indian ‘A’ team for some time and has since been a cricket analyst and TV channel commentator. Srikkanth is also a member of the All India Council of Sports (AICS).

8. Roger Binny

Then – He was a all-rounder who impressed everyone with his performance in bowling at the 1983 World Cricket Championships. He also took the largest number of doors at the time.

He is currently serving as a member of the Karnataka State Cricket Federation (KSCA).

9. Kirti Azad

Then – he was selected as a striker for the 1983 World Cup and withdrew from all forms of cricket until 1986.

Now – His father was a former CM of Bihar. Azad followed him and entered politics. He was a member of Lok Sabha and recently joined the Trinamool Congress after leaving the Indian National Congress.

10. Madan Lal

Then – there was the bowler who took the door Vivian Richards in the 1983 World Cup final.

Now – after retiring, he has coached the UAE national team for some time, and even the Indian national team. He is currently a cricket analyst on TV channels and runs the cricket academy at the Siri Fort sports complex in Delhi.

11. Syed Kirmani

Then – he won the award for best goalkeeper at the 1983 World Cricket Championship.

Now – he starred in a 1985 Bollywood film. Kabhi Ajnabi The, as an antagonist against Sandeep Patil. He also received the 2016 Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016.

12. Balwinder Sandhu

Then – he was a bowler in the Indian national team that won the World Cup in 1983, and in the final he hit 11th place.

Now – He coached the Mumbai team in the 90s, but was not the center of attention later. And this year he applied for the position of coach of Mumbai, but apparently did not get a place.

13. Yashpal Sharma

Then – he was a midfielder in the Indian team, and also achieved other results at the 1983 World Cup.

Now – after retirement he became the main coach of the Indian national team. In 2014, he was appointed head of the Delhi Cricket Advisory Board. Yaspal Sharma passed away earlier this July.

14. Sunil Walson

Then – he was the only player on the team who did not play a single game at the 1983 World Cup.

Sada – Currently serves as team manager for Delhi Capitalsa.

It’s been 38 years since they made us super proud.