Indian Premier League 2022: teams, top players

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League’s Twenty20 extravaganza begins on Saturday when Chennai Super Kings holders face off against the Kolkata Knight Riders.

AFP The sport leads through 10 teams, including two new franchises, that will compete in the richest cricket world championship.

Mumbai Indians

Key Indian players: Rohit Sharma (skipper), Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah. Mumbai has bought goalkeeper and striker Kishan for $ 2 million, India’s most expensive player at this season’s auction.

Top foreign players: Kieron Pollard (West Indies all-rounder), Fabian Allen (West Indies all-rounder), Jofra Archer. The franchise paid $ 1.06 million for English ace Archer despite suspicions of an elbow injury.

IPL record: Five titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020). 2010 finalists defeated

Chennai Super Kings

Key Indian players: Ravindra Jadeja (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, fast bowler Deepak Chahar, who was redeemed for $ 1.85 million.

Best foreign players: Moeen Ali (English all-rounder), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies fast bowler), Devon Conway (New Zealand hitter).

IPL record: Four titles (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021) and five runners-up (2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019).

Delhi Capitals

Key Indian players: Rishabh Pant (skipper), Kuldeep Yadav and Yash Dhull, a brave young hitter who led India to victory at the Under-19 World Championships in the West Indies last month.

Best foreign players: David Warner (Australian hitter), Lungi Ngidi (South African Speed ​​Bowler), Mustafizur Rahman (Speed ​​Bowler Bangladesh).

IPL record: Second place (2020)

Lucknow Super Giants

Key Indian players: KL Rahul (skipper), Avesh Khan – a fast bowler that was bought for $ 1.32 million at auction, compared to a base price of $ 26,500.

Best foreign players: Quinton de Kock (South African wickekeeper-batsman), Jason Holder (West Indies all-rounder), Marcus Stoinis (Australian all-rounder).

IPL record: A new franchise owned by the RPSG Group, led by Indian tycoon Sanjiva Goenko.

Gujarat Titans

Key Indian players: Hardik Pandya (skipper), Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami.

Best foreign players: Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand Speed ​​Bowl), Rashid Khan (Afghan Foot), Matthew Wade (Australian Wickekeeper-Batsman)

IPL record: New franchise owned by CVC Capital.

Punjab Kings

Key Indian players: Mayank Agarwal (skipper), Shikhar Dhawan, Shahrukh Khan – a fierce hitter who joined the team for $ 1.19 million. from a base price of $ 53,000.

Best foreign players: Liam Livingstone (English striker), Jonny Bairstow (English wicketkeeper-batsman), Kagiso Rabada (South African speed bowler). Livingstone was the most expensive foreign player at this season’s auction, selling for $ 1.52 million.

IPL record: Second place winner named Kings XI Punjab (2014).

Rajasthan Royals

Key Indian players: Sanju Samson (skipper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin.

Best foreign players: Jos Buttler (English wickekeeper-batsman), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Australian Speed ​​Bowler), Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies).

IPL record: He won the inaugural edition in 2008 under the leadership of the late Australian great Shane Warne.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Key Indian players: Shreyas Iyer (skipper), Venkatesh Iyer, Varun Chakravarthy.

Best foreign players: Pat Cummins (Australian Speed ​​Bowler), Sam Billings (English wickekeeper-batsman), Sunil Narine (West Indian all-rounder).

IPL record: It is owned by Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, the team has two titles (2012, 2014) and one runner-up (2021).

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Key Indian players: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik.

Best foreign players: Kane Williamson (New Zealand striker, captain), Marco Jansen (South African all-rounder in bowling), Romario Shepherd (West Indies fast bowler).

IPL record: They won their only IPL title in 2016 under Captain David Warner.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Key Indian players: Virat Kohli, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel.

Best foreign players: Faf du Plessis (South African striker, replaces Kohli as captain), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lankan spinner), Glenn Maxwell (Australian all-rounder).

IPL record: Three runners-up (2009, 2011, 2016).


Leave a Comment