Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill Star as Gujarat Titans defeats Lucknow Super Giants to seal IPL 2022 playoffs

The Gujarat Titans are back on a winning streak after consecutive defeats and became the first team to seal their place in the playoffs by defeating the Lucknow Super Giants with 62 sets in the Indian Premier League match in Pune on Tuesday. Although LSG did a decent job with the ball by limiting the GT to 144 by 4 after being asked to bowling, KL Rahul-led side floped with a stick because they were thrown for 82 in 13.5 overs. Rashid Khan (4/24) starred with the ball for GT while Yash Dayal (2/24) and R Sai Kishore (2/7) picked up two gates each.

Earlier, opening the dough Shubman Gill hit a fine half-century, but LSG has produced a disciplined bowling attempt to limit GT to a modest result. Gill was not out on 63 of 49 balls with the help of seven fours, but he lacked support from the other side. He stayed stranded because GT’s next top scorer David Miller (26).

Avesh Khan (2/26) picked up two doors for LSG, while Mohsin Khan (1/18) and Jason Holder (1/44) scalped one by one.

GT sealed its playoffs, scoring 18 points from 12 games. The defeat broke LSG’s five-win streak, but they are still comfortably in second place with 16 points and only need a win to reserve a place in the last four.

LSG slowly began their chase, and their problems worsened after they lost Quinton de Kock (11) and helmsman KL Rahul (8) in successive overs to fall to 24 for 2 after four overs.

While Yash Dayal was in charge of De Kock, Rahul led a short delivery of Mohammed Shami for Wriddhiman Saha behind the stumps.

Debutant Karan Sharma it didn’t help his goal either, giving the catch to David Miller within the circle to give Dayal his second scalp of the day.

Introduced into the attack in the eighth bidding, Rashid Khan hit with his third delivery, fixing Krunal Pandya with googly and Saha quickly lifted bail.

Given that the wickets have been falling in a quick streak from the start, LSG has never gained any momentum in its pursuit, reaching 58 for 4 in the middle of the phase.

The ever-increasing demand rate has led to a decline Ayush Badoni (8), whom Saha confused with R Sai Kishore.

The LSG scoreboard is a sad figure Marcus Stoinis (2) and Jason Holder (1) also failed to get the chance.

Deepak Hood best for LSG with a heavy 26-ball 27.

Earlier, GT’s decision to strike first after winning the draw was in vain as they lost Wriddhiman Saha (5) and Matthew Wade (10) cheap with a traffic light showing only 24 within five overs.

As the passages overturned on the other side, Gill did his job cautiously and in the company of the skipper Hardik Pandya he shared 27 runs for the third pass before this one left, crossing one to Quinton de Kock behind the stumps to give Avesha his second wicket of the day.

After Hardik left, Gill took responsibility and increased the advantage, first cutting Avesha to the square boundary, and then in the next overture he threw Krunal Pandy to the third man’s fence.

But after that, neither Gill nor Miller managed to open their arms as Mohsin and Krunal bowled along a solid line and length to stop the flow of the run.

Miller finally broke the shackles in the third performance of the 16th over with a huge six against Jason Holder over extra coverage, in what was the first maximum in the innings.

Miller, however, was killed in the last ball behind, caught by Ayush Badoni as he hit one straight into a deep third player.

Gill, on the other hand, performed his innings smoothly and brought his fifty into 42 balls with one exclusion Dushmantha Chameera.


After reaching his fiftieth, Gill opened up and hit Chameer for consecutive limits to pick up 14 runes from the 17th over.

Rahul Tewatia (22 not out of 16 balls) used a long handle with a good effect in the final over, breaking Holder by three limits to bring the result closer to the 150-run mark.

Topics mentioned in this article


Leave a Comment