The historic moment when Sreejesh and Manpreet are elected to Khel Ratna: Hockey India President | Hockey

Hockey India on Wednesday congratulated experienced PR goalkeeper Sreejesh and skipper Manpreet Singh on awarding the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award, the highest honor for an athlete in India.

While Sreejesh had an outstanding trip to the Tokyo Olympics and was also awarded the 2020 FIH Goalkeeper Award for his exploits by retaining India’s place in the Olympic bronze medal team, Manpreet Singh was captain of the Indian men’s hockey team that successfully completed 41 years India’s long wait to win an Olympic medal in field hockey.

The entire Indian men’s hockey team that is part of the Olympic success was also honored with the Arjuna Prize. The list includes Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Harmanpreet Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Shamsher Singh, Hardik Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Amit Rohidj and Simet, Simit, Sumit, Singh.

Of the Indian women’s hockey team, experienced striker Vandana Katariya and midfielder Monika have also been nominated for the Arjuna Award. Both Vandana and Monica were part of the Indian women’s hockey team at the 2016 Rio Olympics, as well as at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics where the Indians won a billion hearts with their historic fourth place finish.

Former international hockey player and hockey veteran coach Sarpal Singh has been selected for the Dronacharya Lifetime Achievement Award, while former Indian hockey captain and coach Pritam Siwach has been selected for the Dronacharya Award. Meanwhile, Davinder Singh Garcha will be awarded the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to Indian hockey.

Congratulating all the winners, Hockey India President Gyanendro Ningombam said: “This is a truly historic moment for the sport as two solid players will be honored with the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. On behalf of Hockey India, I congratulate them and also wish them the best in their future efforts because there is still a lot to achieve for Indian hockey and they were important members of the team. “

“I also congratulate all the members of the Indian men’s team who have been nominated for the Arjuna Award. It is truly remarkable that the Ministry of Youth and Sports recognizes the team’s historic efforts at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Arjuna.Their contribution to women’s hockey is huge and they deserve recognition.Congratulations to coaches Sarpal Singh (Lifetime Achievement) and Pritam Siwach on the Dronacharya Award.Congratulations also to Davinder Singh Garchi who was nominated for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award.I also thank these to veterans on their huge contribution to Indian hockey, ”he added.


Leave a Comment